Anxiety · mental health · mental illness · stigma · Uncategorized

Just.

WARNING: Incoherent rant follows.

I want to ban the word ‘just’ and all its counterparts. Not only is it useless, it makes you feel an inch tall.
The worst, to me, is when doctors use it. ‘Oh, it’s just anxiety / depression / another stigmatised illness.’
Is that all? I’m so glad it’s just constant worrying or suicidal thoughts I’m going to plagued with.
Great.
Don’t get me wrong, I know there are illnesses that are deemed more serious than anxiety and I totally get that. But anxiety is NOT easy. It’s not a ‘just’. And when someone’s feelings or mental state is trivialised, the person isn’t helped. All that happens is the feeding of a stigma that shouldn’t exist and the person is left feeling like crap.

Rant over.

Leave a Reply

