Anxiety · mental health · mental illness · Uncategorized

Sertraline experiences

It’s been a while since I last wrote and I must admit that it’s been the last thing on my mind. A while back, I blogged about my indecision over whether to wean off Sertraline or stay on it. Well, against the better judgement of my doctor, my parents, my friends, pretty much everyone I asked, I decided to do it. Don’t get me wrong, I did a lot (like, a loooooot) of research and read a lot of blogs about other people’s experiences.

It seemed like the right thing for me. I’ve never been comfortable relying so heavily on tablets that I’m not even convinced I should have been on. I never felt fully OKAY while I was taking them and honestly, I wasn’t keen on the consequences of being stuck on them for so long.

Now, I realise that I’m pretty fortunate that I have no major commitments that require my not being ill. I volunteer twice a week at a local nursery school. I’m completing my degree at home. I don’t have children or a job or any place to be. So I wasn’t afraid of being ill, as many, many people told me I would almost certainly be once I stopped Sertraline.

Today is day four. Aside from random, slightly debilitating dizziness and four almost completely sleepless nights, I’ve so far had no negative withdrawal symptoms. I realise it’s early days. But man I’d be happy if it stayed like this!

I doubt it. I really do.

I plan to use the blog as a journal of sorts so I can keep track of my symptoms.

I know, in the end, it’ll be worth it because I would really like a life free of antidepressants.

Leave a Reply

